2014 begins with the end in mind.

Eat less sugar. Buy a house. Stop cussing. Get in bikini bod shape. Complete a marathon. These are few of the New Year’s resolutions I’ve made in years past. I actually completely stopped making resolutions entirely because I felt they weren’t genuine and like most others’ resolutions, are very shortly lived. It wasn’t until I found The Desire Map that I started to look at goals in a completely new way, deciding for the first time in a very long while to set goals for the new year.

It begins with the end in mind by asking yourself, “How do I want to feel?” Your goals plant roots in those core desired feelings and grow, enriching and energizing you while you work towards accomplishing your goals. So in the end, you feel accomplishment full of your core desired feelings, rather than feeling empty achievement because you set goals based on shoulds and woulds, detached from your core desires. How we all haven’t thought of this common sense idea that we would set goals that are centered around how we want to feel in the end stumps me. But hey, I’m thankful I found it!

So after a weeks worth of desire mapping, I share with you my core desired feelings and goals for 2014. I share these with you because I plan on holding myself accountable through this blog and hope you will join me in the journey.

Screen shot 2014-01-08 at 12.15.55 PM

The words at the top are my core desired feelings that I want to feel this year. These words are by no means static; they are living, breathing feelings that may fluctuate and change over the course of the year. The list of five goals below the core desired feelings are what I will achieve this year and will directly impact how I feel in a positive way–no empty goals this year! Of course, there are a billion other emotions I will feel this year but I’ve zeroed in on what the root of my emotions stem from and these five words sum up the ways I want to feel.

Abundance: wholeness, fullness, rich, gracious, thankful, warm, giving/helpful, positive, loving, joyful, trusting, manages emotions, inspires other, enriched, and nourished.

Inspired: motivated, driven, creative, energized, invigorated, positivity, enriched, soulful, active, full of ideas, without fear and self-doubt, going after what I want, and procrastination-free.

Healthy: strong, in control, balanced, comfortable, calm, aligned, vibrant, radiant, fit, energized, light, living in the gray area, body supports me in action, active, nourished, rejuvenated, and connected.

Connected: loving, understood, cared for, warm, communicative, vulnerable, abundant, risk-taking, laughter, happiness, supportive, more opportunities, trusted, respected, intuitive, thoughtful, goose bumps, touching, and hugging.

Empowered: womanly, strong, doubtless, fearless, go-getter, motivated, driven, inspired, confident, positive, take bull by the horns, trust myself, energized, transformative, mobilized, active, conviction, free of restraint, powerful, creative, and playful.

The goals I chose came from a long list of about 25 other goals. There are many other things I will accomplish this year, like completing an Olympic distance triathlon, wedding planning with my love, and further spiritual growth but this short list is do-able, excites me when I think about accomplishing it, is the right amount of challenging, and pushes me outside my comfort zone. These five goals are balanced and touch the five parts of my life in great ways: Livelihood & Lifestyle, Body & Wellness, Creativity & Learning, Relationships & Society, and Essence & Spirituality.

Why launch a first kick-ass iteration of a fitness website? This comes from a need in the market that doesn’t yet exist. I’ve vetted the idea around for a few months now and it appears to have legs for major growth. If I tap into my marketing and digital advertising skills, online and startup contacts and push myself to think differently, I think I’ll have a pretty great idea to launch. It’s business plan go time!

Why keep blogging and devise a plan to get even more eyeballs and clicks? I’ve been writing however I could, since I was extremely little. Before I could write, I would highlight my Frog & Toad books and scribble lines in the sides of the pages like I was commenting on the relationship of the amphibians! I have an innate desire to write and communicate. I’ve written privately in journals, publicly in published articles, new business proposals, websites, marketing collateral, and social media posts for brands. I even tried to write a book several times but blogging feels more personally connected and feasible. So I’d like to get more intentional about writing and expand my voice.

Why extend coaching at church to friends and strangers? This is a really interesting and surprising life path that has been lit before me through the Life Compass training I blogged about previously. I’ve always been the person that my friends and family come to for advice; even strangers open up to me about very private matters. I love being that go-to person so much that I thought I wanted to be a psychologist but have always been concerned about taking home too much of others lives. So I was more than pleasantly shocked when I prayed about meaningful ways to get more involved in my church, was brought back to my love for helping others in a mentoring/coaching/life line kind of way and in the same day coaching training practically laid itself in my lap. Since then, I’ve been going through extensive training to offer free coaching to help members of our congregation move forward in life. I can help anyone through an issue by actively listening and asking the right questions to help themselves discover what they need to do, rather than telling them my advice or unpacking all their baggage. I see this being a valuable and fulfilling role for me and I’d love to extend this out to friends and possibly build a business out of it. Stay tuned…

Why do 4 networking events and 4 community charity events with Henry, family and friends? This is actually a combination of multiple goals that have spawned from my busy schedule and not spending enough time with the people I love. I want to be more intentional about spending time with my loved ones, networking for business and giving back to the community regularly. In my true multitasking ways, why not just combine them all? Invites will be on their way to you soon.

Why get more sexy and creative in the bedroom? Ok, so this one is definitely TMI but in an effort to be transparent I didn’t exclude it. Actually, I think many of my ladies can relate I hope. With a busy schedule, rigorous workouts and just the way life works out many times, my sexuality has been put on the back-burner lately. Well, I’m intentionally moving it to the front burner and turning it on high! As a newly engaged woman to a ridiculously funny and handsome man, it’s time to have some fun. I most likely will not be updating you on this one, since I’m blushing just writing this!

So, there you have it. I’ve pinpointed how I want to feel this year and set some goals to accomplish. I’m breaking those goals down into actionable steps for each month this year to keep me moving and accountable.

I want to hear from you. Did you set resolutions or goals for 2014? What methods did you use to arrive at them?

As always, if you liked this blog post and want more, feel free to sign up to receive alerts about new posts and share with your friends. Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

